Skip to content

A Prayer of Thanksgiving and Rededication on the Silver Anniversary of My Ordination to the Priesthood

April 30, 2014

O taste and see that the Lord is good,
Happy are those who take refuge in him.
(Psalm 34:8)

Today is the 25th anniversary of my ordination to the Priesthood. Each day, I read one of the Psalms, starting at Psalm 1 and going through to Psalm 150 (taking around 3 days for Psalm 119!), and then beginning again at Psalm 1. On the 25th Anniversary of my Ordination to the Diaconate, back on September 14, I was struck by the appropriateness of part of the Psalm for that day, Psalm 12:6. Today, the same holds true for the above verses from Psalm 34, the Psalm appointed by the Lectionary for the Holy Eucharist we shared at St. Paul’s this morning. The truth of these words has been proven to me innumerable times these past 25 years. It’s my heart’s desire to live a life that in word and deed adds its testimony to that of the psalmist, proclaiming to all the universe how wonderful it is to know, love, and serve the Lord! 

Dear Lord, I want to thank you so much for the awesome privilege you’ve given me to serve you and my brothers and sisters as a priest in your Church these past 25 years. Please help me always to rely on your Presence and power to sustain and renew me every second of every day! And for as long as you desire to continue to give me the gift of life, may my joyous response ever be, “Here I am, Lord. I will go, Lord, if you lead me. I will hold your people in my heart.” In your Precious Name I pray. Amen.

From → All Posts, Music

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

