Skip to content

Prayers of the Saints – A Prayer of Praise by St. Catherine of Siena

December 7, 2013

1377156098_tumblr_m2vzmkimuZ1qfkfpao1_500

Roughly every two weeks, I’m posting a prayer from the “great cloud of witnesses”  (Hebrews 12:1) of our brothers and sisters in the Lord who’ve run this race of life before us. The “prayer of the saints” in this posting is this wonderful prayer of praise by St. Catherine of Siena (1347-1386), from Veronica Zundel, ed., Famous Prayers: A Treasury of Christian Prayers Through the Centuries. Like St. Catherine, may we plunge into the unfathomable depths of the Eternal Trinity; may we be set ablaze with our God of love’s fire!

catherine-of-sienaYou, O eternal Trinity, are a deep sea, into which the more I enter the more I find, and the more I find the more I seek. The soul cannot be satiated in your abyss, for she continually hungers after you, the eternal Trinity, desiring to see you with the light of your light. As the hart desires the springs of living water, so my soul desires to leave the prison of this dark body to see you in truth.

O abyss, O eternal Godhead, O sea profound, what more could you give me than yourself? You are the fire that ever burns without being consumed; you consume in your heat all the soul’s self-love; you are the fire which takes away cold; with your light you illumine me so that I may know all your truth. Clothe me, clothe me with yourself, eternal truth, so that I may run this mortal life with true obedience, and with the light of your most holy faith.

fireplace

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

