Skip to content

Two Thanksgiving Quotes About Our Attitude of Heart

October 20, 2013

A man and woman gave a sizeable contribution to their church to honour the memory of their son who lost his life in the war. When the announcement was made of the generous donation, a woman whispered to her husband, “Let’s give the same amount for our boy!” Her husband said, “What are you talking about? Our son wasn’t killed.” “That’s just the point,” she said. “Let’s give it as an expression of our gratitude that we have him alive and healthy with us.”
(This quote from source unknown was shared as part of the sermon at our October 13 Services. The young man in the photo is Master Cpl. Byron Greff, who was the last Canadian soldier to die in action in Afghanistan on October 29, 2011.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If one should give me a dish of sand, and tell me there were particles of iron in it, I might look for them with my eyes, and search for them with my clumsy fingers, and be unable to detect them; but let me take a magnet and sweep through it, and now would it draw to itself the almost invisible particles by the mere power of attraction. The unthankful heart, like my finger in the sand, discovers no mercies; but let the thankful heart sweep through the day and as the magnet finds the iron, so it will find, in every hour, some heavenly blessings.
(Henry Ward Beecher)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

But this I call to mind, and therefore I have hope.
The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases,
his mercies never come to an end;
they are new every morning;
great is your faithfulness.
“The Lord is my portion,” says my soul,
“therefore I will hope in him.”
(Lamentations 3:21-24)

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

