Skip to content

Three Grandparents’ and Seniors’ Day Reflections

October 10, 2013

And now that I am old and gray-headed, O God, …
I make known your strength to this generation
and your power to all who are to come.
(Psalm 71:18)

At our Services on October 7, we celebrated Grandparents’ and Seniors’ Day together. In these Services, we shared ten reflections that reminded us of the love and life lessons we receive from grandparents and seniors. Three of these reflections are included below.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

REFLECTION 1:

Happy Childhood

On admission to the nursing home where I worked, each new resident was interviewed by a social worker. During one session, an alert, twinkling eyed 96-year-old man was asked, “Did you have a happy childhood?” “So far, so good!” he replied.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

REFLECTION 2:

Walking with Grandma

I like to walk with Grandma. Her steps are short like mine.
She doesn’t say, “Now hurry up.” She always takes her time.
I like to walk with Grandma. She see things like I do:
Wee pebbles bright, a funny cloud, half hidden drops of dew.
Most people have to hurry. They do not stop to see.
I’m glad that God made Grandma so unrushed and young like me!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

REFLECTION 3:

[From Celine, age 23:]

When I was a teenager, I tried to kill myself. I wasn’t happy. I got angry and embarrassed when it didn’t work. I didn’t want to see anybody. But Grandfather came anyway. I told him I didn’t know what to say. He said, “Let’s just hold each other for a while.” He never asked me why I tried to kill myself. I’m real glad I’m still alive today.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The image at the top of this posting is of Juanita Chavez, age 69, saying Grace with her great-granddaughter Victoria, 7, whom she’s raised since she was 1 month old. I like how it shows the influence Juanita is having on Victoria just by being who she is and living out her discipleship. This picture and the quote from Psalm 71 below it, were on the cover of our October 6 Orders of Service.

Embedded below is a video of the traditional hymn, “Worship the Lord in the Beauty of Holiness,” which we sang on October 6 at our 10 a.m. Service.  

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

