Skip to content

An Invitation to “Be Still” and Receive God’s Loving Words into Our Hearts

June 29, 2013

On Sunday, June 23, we listened together to the still, small voice of God speaking loving encouragement into our hearts. Among the words we heard were comforting verses from Psalm 46.

We began our Services with verses 1-3 and 7: 

God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.
Therefore we will not fear, though the earth be moved,
and though the mountains be toppled into the depths of the sea;
Though its waters rage and foam,
and though the mountains tremble at its tumult.
The Lord of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our stronghold.

And we concluded our Reflection Time with verses 10-12:

“Be still, then, and know that I am God;
I will be exalted among the nations;
I will be exalted in the earth.”
The Lord of hosts is with us;
the God of Jacob is our stronghold.

In our Reflection Time, we watched the video embedded below, entitled “Be Still and Know,” which is based on the Psalm. I pray that we may all respond to this invitation to come as we are, with all our fears, in the midst of the storms of life – without and within – and be still with the God who loves us, so that we may know in our heart of hearts that God is with us as our refuge, strength, and stronghold, and may embody this message of hope for a broken world.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Here are some other words of promise from God to us, as found in Holy Scripture:

Do not fear, for I am with you.
(Isaiah 41:10)

Do not fear, for I have redeemed you;
I have called you by name, you are mine.
When you pass through the waters, I will be with you;
and through the rivers, they shall not overwhelm you.
(Isaiah 43:1-2)

I have loved you with an everlasting love.
(Jeremiah 31:4)

I am with you always.
(Matthew 28:20)

You are my beloved child; with you I am well pleased.
(Mark 1:11 – for a reflection on how these words are spoken to us, please click here)

My sheep hear my voice. I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they will never perish. No one will snatch them out of my hand.
(John 10:27-28)

I will never leave you or forsake you.
(Hebrews 13:5)

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

