Skip to content

A Reflection, a Prayer, and Two Songs to Bring in the New Year

January 2, 2013

I pray that all of us in our Parish family enter 2013 with a deep a sense of gratitude for Our Lord’s faithfulness to us this past year, and joyful excitement at the adventures he has in store for us as we step further along the road hand in hand with him. Below are a reflection, a prayer, and two songs that give voice to this attitude of the heart.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This poem is “God Knows” (1908) by Minnie Louise Haskins (1875-1957). It, famously, was quoted by King George VI, in his 1939 Christmas radio broadcast to the British Empire facing the hardship and uncertainty of World War II. Thank you to my Dad, Brian Tyson, for this image file, which will enlargen if you click on it. A recording of the last two minutes of King George’s speech, which ends with these words, is embedded below.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Jesus … Master … Shepherd … Teacher … Door … Vine … Friend, You are many things to many people. You are near enough to know our every need; and, by faith, we know that You walk with us and that You are going before us, showing us the Way, Your Way. You are with us as Emmanuel – God with us. So we do not fear. Grant us the gift of the spirit of faith to walk Your Way with assurance and love. Amen.

[Source: Episcopal Website: www.gbod.org]

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

17 Comments
  1. I’ve been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality articles or
    weblog posts on this kind of space . Exploring in Yahoo I finally stumbled upoon this website.
    Studying this info So i am happy to exhibit that I’ve aan incredibly excellent uncanny feeling I discovered just what I needed.
    I mot definitely will make sure to doo not disregard this web site
    and give it a look regularly.

    • Hi there! Thanks for visiting my blog, and sharing your encouraging words. I’m glad you’ve enjoyed my blog. It will be great to have you looking at it regularly. I wish you well in your life’s endeavours.

  2. Thiis site was… how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I’ve found something that helped me.
    Thanks a lot!

    • You’re most welcome! I’m delighted that you found my blog to be helpful. Thanks for visiting, and for sharing your encouraging words. I wish you well in your life’s endeavours.

  3. Hi there, I would like to subscribe for this website tto get
    hottest updates, so where can i do it please assist.

    • Hi, Jarred! I’m delighted to hear that you’d like to follow my blog. Thank you for this honour! To do this, look at the upper left section of the screen when you’re on my blog, and you’ll see the option to “follow” it. All you have to do is click on this and you’re set. I pray for God’s blessings to be poured out on you without measure, always.

  4. Surely green power is what all countries around the wold should be
    promoting?

    The facts arre there for anyone to ssee for us all to see, solar power just makes goo sense.

    The financial benefits can be vast for business operations and consumers alike.

    It always amazes me how many people still need too be convinced oof the momey benefits hat can be made from
    installing a solar system.

  5. Very enjoyable post, and well conveyed.

    I have worked as a professional cleaner for eleven years
    and the identical issues apply in our sector.

    These kind of issues need to be addressed at a higher level
    and get finalised once and for all.

    Would love to see some more posts on this topic, but for now
    I have my cleaning to do.

    • Hi there! Thanks for visiting my blog, and sharing your encouraging words. I wish you well in your life’s endeavours.

  6. I was convinced to leave a comment as the post really brought
    back some feelings within me.

    Maybe these issues can be applied within other sectors too, such
    as the professional cleaning industry.

    These kind of issues need to be tackled at a higher level and get
    finished once and for all.

    Oh well, back to my cleaning I suppose, but I did enjoy this post a lot.

    • Hi there! Thanks for visiting my blog, and sharing your encouraging words. I wish you well in your life’s endeavours.

  7. I have read so many articles concerning the blogger lovers but this paragraph iis in fact a nice article, keep it up.

  8. I am regular reader, how are you everybody?

    This piece of writing posted at this web site is really fastidious.

    • Hi, Bradley! I am well, and I pray that you are, too. Thank you for the encouraging words! It’s great to have you as a regular reader.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Pastor's Postings

Leave a Reply

