Skip to content

A Testimony of Thankfulness and Trust from Bill Hellyer

January 26, 2012

[On January 23, Bill sent me this email for the February edition of Living Waters, but I thought I should post his moving words of gratitude and faith here, also:]

A HUGE thank you to all those at St. Paul’s that Prayed for Elton over the years she bravely and Faithfully battled  Breast Cancer, a total of 9 years with many ups and downs, smiles and tears. Though he body finally succumbed to the relentless cancer, I can say for sure that her Spirit and Soul never did.

It was a tough go for both of us, but we never let cancer be our lives, if we had 9 years would have been wasted, we lived our lives as fully and completely as we could, putting Christ in front of all the bad and good news that came our way. I tell you that even though cancer took her, it NEVER took anything from us as a couple, and now that demon Cancer has been beaten as Elton is completely healed in her Father’s arms in Heaven, it never stood a chance…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

MARCH 16 UPDATE:

Bill will be participating in the Canadian Cancer Society Relay for Life on June 23. For more information, including how you can donate to Bill as he runs for Elton, please click here.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

[Embedded below is a beautiful arrangement by Zach Busch of “My Life Flows on in Endless Song” and “Lord Jesus, You Shall be My Song as I Journey.”  The latter song, a L’Arche hymn, is one of my favourites. Its last verse, which is not included in this arrangement, speaks of reaching our journey’s destination, as Elton has:]

I fear in the dark and the doubt of my journey,
but courage will come with the sound of your steps by my side,
and with all my companions you’ve saved by your love,
we’ll sing to your dawn at the end of our journey.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

