Skip to content

God’s Drenching for Ministry

January 12, 2012

Fruit doesn’t generate itself; it is generated by the vine. The same is true of us. Jesus was Baptized for us, Jesus laid down his life for us, that we might have his life within us forever. So, as Paul says in Gal 2:20, “It is no longer I who live, but it is Christ who lives in me.”

Through what our Lord has done for us, God draws up into the life of the Trinity (we are Baptized into the Name of the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit). The Holy Spirit lives within us to transform and make new, producing the fruit of the Spirit – love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, generosity, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control (see Galatians 5:22-23) – in our lives.

It is a slow process. It’s painful at times. But it is happening.

And then, as God’s beloved, with the life of Jesus within us, drenched in the Holy Spirit, we are called to make a difference in the world.

With his Baptism, Jesus began his public ministry, leaving behind his former life to embrace the mission he had been given.

We are called to do the same.

As Christians, what kind of first impression do we give – individually and as a Parish? Is it that we are committed to be with people, with all creation, whatever the cost? Or is it that we are aloof, insulated, and inward-looking? As those who share Jesus’ Baptism, we are called to show forth, and make manifest Jesus’ glory … We are called to make a difference in the world – spreading the light of Jesus’ love, as it shines through us.

Brett Blair writes:
In the civil rights’ marches in the 1960’s. Martin Luther King – often at the front – received his share of stinging high-pressured water hoses. Dr. King once remarked that he and the other marchers had a common strength. He put it this way: As “we went before the fire hoses; we had known water. If we were a Baptist or some other denomination, we had been immersed. If we were Methodist, and some others, we had been sprinkled, but we knew water.”

You and I know the water. All of God’s children know the water. We share by our faith this common symbol, this initiation, this rite, this power of God over the deep and often raging chaos of life. We know water! All over the world Baptism unites us.

Keith Wagner adds:
Jesus called fishers as his first disciples. These were common, everyday folk who knew what it meant to get wet. God is not looking for the cream of the crop nor is God looking for those who get all the breaks. God starts with average people who are willing to get wet, willing to go deep, willing to make a commitment.

People like you and me.

Let us pray …

Lord Jesus, thank you for your Baptism: the Baptism you underwent, and the Baptism you bestow. Amen.

(adapted from the conclusion of the sermon at our January 8 Services)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Embedded below is a a video of a song entitled “Faces In The Water,” sung by Kate Campbell, from the album “For The Living Of These Days.” The person who posted the video adds the following: “The song was written by Alabama native, Dr. Greg McPherson, and refers to the Civil Rights memorial in Montgomery, Alabama, which honors those who gave their lives, both literally and figuratively, for racial equality and peace.” As we watch and listen, I pray that we are strengthened in our resolve to “get wet,” and then, as those drenched for ministry, spread the love of Jesus in the world.

15 Comments
  1. Hmm it seems like your blog ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and
    say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog
    blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any points for novice blog writers?
    I’d certainly appreciate it.

    • Hi there! Thank you for your encouraging words! I’m glad you’re enjoying my blog. My advice for novice bloggers (and I’m certainly still in this category myself!) is very simple: Write about what’s important to you – what you love. Your passion for your subject will come across. I wish you well in your blogging, and all your endeavours.

  2. This is very interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your excellent post.
    Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks!

    • Hi there! Thanks for your encouraging words, and for sharing about my blog. I’m delighted to have you following it! I wish you well in all your life’s endeavours.

  3. Howdy, i read your blog occasionally and i own
    a similar one and i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam comments?
    If so how do you prevent it, any plugin or anything you can advise?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me mad so any help is very much appreciated.

    • Hi there! I get a huge amount of spam comments, but almost all of them are filtered and moved automatically to my “Spam” folder (which has 110 comments in it as I write this). In WordPress, you can adjust your spam filter by going to “Dashboard,” then “Settings,” and then “Discussion.” Hope this is helpful. I wish you well in life.

  4. Hi, i feel that i saw you visited my web site so i came to return
    the prefer?.I’m attempting to to find things to improve
    my website!I suppose its good enough to use some of your ideas!!

    • Hi there! Thanks for visiting my blog, and sharing your encouraging words. I’m glad you’ve found some ideas you’d like to use.

  5. I’m not sure where you’re getting your info, but great topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more.
    Thanks for great information I was looking for this info for my mission.

    • Thanks for the encouraging words! If you’d like to discuss something in particular that I’ve posted more deeply with me, please let me know.

  6. Hello, i think that i saw you visited my web site so i came to “return the favor”.I am
    attempting to find things to enhance my site!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!

    • Hi there! Thank you for visiting my blog. It is definitely OK to use some of my ideas. I’m glad you’ve found something of value that you’d like to share.

  7. Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I genuinely enjoyed reading it,
    you will be a great author. I will make sure to bookmark
    your blog and will eventually come back very soon. I want to encourage you continue your great work,
    have a nice weekend!

    • Thank you so much for the encouraging words! I’m delighted that you enjoyed your visit to my blog, and hope you do indeed come back very soon.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. We Remember Daphne ffolliott – A Person “Drenched for Ministry” « Pastor's Postings

Leave a Reply

