Skip to content

The Most Important Thing in Life

August 15, 2011

On Friday, around 24 of us watched the movie “Soul Surfer.” The movie is based on the true story of Bethany Hamilton, the surfing prodigy who at the age of 13 lost an arm in a shark attack. The movie shows how as Bethany comes to grips with her new challenges, she also comes to realize that she now has new opportunities to touch people’s lives by her example of perseverance.

At the end of the movie, a reporter asks Bethany if she wishes she had decided not to go surfing on the day she lost her arm. She replies:
I wouldn’t change a thing, because then I wouldn’t be here talking to you. Surfing isn’t the most important thing in life. Love is. I’ve had the chance to embrace more people with one arm than I ever could with two.

In real life, Bethany has said:
I see that God is able to use my story to help others. Once a girl came up and told me that she had had cancer. When she learned my story it made her realize that she didn’t need to give up. I think that if I can help other people find hope in God, then that is worth losing my arm for. I have this thought every second of my life—”Why me?” Not negatively, like “Why did this terrible thing happen to me?” But more like “Why did God choose me, and what does God have in mind for me?”

It’s an awesome question, which we should all be asking!

(From August 14 Sermon)

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

