Skip to content

Norway! (from the Anglican Church of Noosa in Norway)

July 23, 2011

This was posted today on the website of the Anglican Church of Noosa in Norway, by Mark Calder, its Pastor:

We cannot comprehend how one person can bring about so much death and devastation. And we hear the cries of the atheists and agnostics: “ha – your god didn’t stop this!? Either he doesn’t care or he couldn’t do it. He’s either cold hearted or impotent. Don’t tell me about your god!”

But the Bible makes clear that God does care and is powerful! And I for one, hold fast to what I know about God, so that when there’s stuff I don‘t know or can’t know, I work from the known, not the unknown.

I trust the plans and purposes – and love of God. Why?

Because of the death and resurrection of the Lord Jesus.

There he shows me his love. Jesus loves me – and the world – so much, he gave his life for me so I can be forgiven, be reconciled to God and have eternal life.

There he shows me his hate of evil – dealing with it on the cross.

And there he shows me his triumph over evil. It could not hold him down.

If then he’s demonstrated such power over evil – why does evil still hang around, resulting in the likes of what we’ve seen in Norway?

I don’t know the complete answer, but

  1. I trust God
  2. I know that every day God doesn’t come back and wind up evil once and for all, is another day of amnesty and invitation – so more people can come in to relationship with him.
  3. I know that if God were to wipe out all the evil in the world today, he wouldn’t stop with me – I would be wiped out too!
  4. I know that one day, there will be a whole new world order – without pain, or mourning or death and I eagerly anticipate that great Day.

I can’t possibly know all the answers. I never will. But to work from what I know to what I can’t know helps me to cope with what I don’t.

Please contact me if I can help you wrestle with more questions about this shocking incident. And may our heavenly Father cause his word of comfort and hope to move among the people of Norway at this sad sad time.

From → All Posts

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

